Silk Painted Cushions

I finished these hand painted silk cushions the other day. I designed them on tracing paper, painted the silk strips and stitched it all together – it took me quite a while but worth it in the end.

silk_painted_cushions

Silk painting makes the best colours.

My friend sent me a birthday card via email and I printed it out, it had a cool picture of a octopus on it. I painted one onto some silk and made it into a cushion. I really hate jelly fish but love octopuses (is it octopuses or octopii mm…).

squid_front

The other design sprang to mind while watching a sea dragon swim but get nowhere in Chicago’s massive crazy aquarium.

sea_dragon_front

The back of the cushion worked out one of my favorite parts, maybe I will paint a room one day head to toe in seaweed with hidden leafy sea dragons behind plants.

sea_dragon_back

The material for these was taken from the bottom of the aprons from Cafe Jazz here in Cardiff. I love to make things from other things, I think this might be part of my blog theme.

7 thoughts on “Silk Painted Cushions

  1. right I was just prevaricating about starting making my xmas cards so now INSPIRED I will get on with it!!!!

    And I like the cushions! Very much indeedio

    • Thanks lovely face, yes come down and lets get silk painting, you will love it, I have everything apart from the silk 🙂 Or yes maybe lets just watch adverts and the x-factor – NO NO NO DON’T MAKE ME!

  2. I have just finished making a 3D bird using needle felting and was going to add a photo but I don’t know how to. Any way needle felting is fun and you can watch teli at the same time. I just watched Great Expectations and it made me cry at the end- that was when I pricked my finger with the felting needle

Leave a Reply

